8th Grade Washington DC Trip Page

DC Permission Paperwork

DC Packing List and Itinerary


DC Fundraising is underway. Please contact the main office for details


Online DC Resources

(Copy and paste the URL to go to the desired website)

Has information in brief about many locations in and around DC:
http://www.nps.gov/nr/travel/wash/sitelist.htm

Smithsonian: http://www.si.edu/Museums

Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/index.html
-Digital Collections: http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html

Capitol Building: http://www.visitthecapitol.gov/aboutthecapitol/index.html (resources are on the bottom half of the column on the right)
-Neat timeline comparing the Civil War with completing the Capitol Building: http://www.visitthecapitol.gov/Exhibitions/civilwar/#/timeline/

Pentagon Memorial: http://www.pentagonmemorial.net/

Vietnam Memorial: http://thewall-usa.com/
http://thewall-usa.com/information.asp

Lincoln Memorial: http://www.nps.gov/featurecontent/ncr/linc/interactive/deploy/index.htm#/introduction

Korean Memorial: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Korean_War_Veterans_Memorial
-About the War: http://www.koreanwararchives.com/fastfacts.html

Iwo Jima Memorial: http://www.iwojima.com/

Washington Monument: http://www.enchantedlearning.com/history/us/monuments/washingtonmonument/
Great Episode of Modern Marvels available of Learn 360. Search :Washington Monument Modern Marvels

World War II Memorial: http://www.wwiimemorial.com/default.asp?page=facts.asp&subpage=intro
Teacher's guide and Interactive timeline: http://www.wwiimemorial.com/default.asp?page=facts.asp&subpage=intro

Ford’s Theater: http://www.fords.org/home/plan-your-visit/daytime-visits-fords-theatre/museum (Clicking the links of the artifacts at the bottom of the page do a good job of telling the story)

Mt. Vernon: http://www.mountvernon.org/ (Use the links "Meet George Washington" and "Visit his Estate")
Peterson House: http://www.fords.org/home/plan-your-visit/daytime-visits-fords-theatre/petersen-house

Gettysburg: http://www.gettysburgfoundation.org/

Pentagon: http://pentagontours.osd.mil/
Video from National Geographic on Learn360. Search: Inside the Pentagon

White House: http://www.whitehouse.gov/about

National Archives: http://www.archives.gov/nae/visit/

Jefferson Memorial: http://www.american-history-fun-facts.com/jefferson-memorial-history.html

National Cathedral: http://www.nationalcathedral.org/ (Use links under Visitors)

Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial: http://washington.org/article/martin-luther-king-jr-memorial
http://dc.about.com/od/monuments/a/KingMemorial.htm
About MLK: http://www.biography.com/people/martin-luther-king-jr-9365086

Arlington: http://www.arlingtoncemetery.mil/

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9N82wR7ywuw
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Franklin_Delano_Roosevelt_Memorial

 

Bus 3